Antique, Vintage, Retro… What exactly is the difference?

For quite a while now I am a huge fan of second hand stuff. But I’ve never seemed to be able to tell the difference between Vintage, Retro and Antique. So, before I go on and tell you about my finds, I want to educate myself, and while I’m at it, you too!

2c306667cd292d86d2387d979afa634f

Antique

An antique is “a work of art, piece of furniture, or decorative object made at an earlier period and according to various customs laws at least 100 years ago.

Vintage

Although widely misused, the term “vintage” refers to an item that is at least 20 years old or more.

Retro

retro simply refers to anything that looks out of style for the current time period.

Source

So in my next blog, there’s gonna be a lot of NES and SNES (and 30 games, zapper gun and more fun stuff) I have scored lately, but also paintings and other antiques and vintage finds!

I am always interested in the uncommon stuff!

nes

Geef een reactie

